

TOWN OF DEEP RIVER WARNING OF SPECIAL TOWN MEETING - MONDAY, APRIL 11, 2022

The electors and those persons eligible to vote in town meetings of the Town of Deep River, Connecticut, are hereby warned and notified that a Special Town Meeting will be held at the Richard H. Smith Town Hall, 174 Main Street, Deep River, Connecticut, on Monday, April 11, 2022 at 7:00pm for the following purpose:

ITEM 1. - To discuss and vote on a Resolution:

(a) To appropriate \$1,200,000 for the purchase of the following Town assets: \$400,000 for one tanker truck for the Fire Department; \$200,000 for one plow truck for the Public Works Department; \$500,000 for radios and radio system improvements for the Fire Department, Public Works Department, WPCA, and Ambulance, Emergency Management and Town Hall operations; and \$100,000 for a breathing air filling station for the Fire Department;

(b) To finance the appropriation by issuing the Town's bonds, notes or other obligations in an amount not to exceed \$1,200,000, reduced by any grants received by and allocated to the purchases by the Town, including up to \$300,000 of American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funds allocated to the purchases;

(c) To authorize the First Selectman and Treasurer to determine the terms, conditions and other details of the bonds, notes or other obligations;

(d) To take actions under applicable Internal Revenue Service regulations to allow the Town to make temporary advances of available funds and reimburse the advances from the proceeds of borrowings and to issue the bonds, notes or other obligations on a tax-exempt basis; and

(e) To authorize the First Selectman to enter into contracts for the purchases and authorize Town officials and employees to take all other actions necessary to complete the purchases and issue the bonds, notes or other obligations to finance the appropriation.

A copy of the full text of the Resolution is on file and available for inspection at the Office of the Town Clerk.

Dated at Deep River, Connecticut this 31st day of March, 2022.

BOARD OF SELECTMEN:

Angus L. McDonald, Jr. Duane Gates James A. Olson