

## **Special Town Meeting**

## November 14, 2023

A Special Town Meeting was held on Tuesday, November 14, 2023, in the Richard H. Smith Town Hall. The meeting was attended by the Board of Selectmen including First Selectman Angus McDonald, Selectmen Duane Gates and James Olson. Videographers Margo Elliott and John Greene recorded the meeting. Also in attendance were Joyce Berardis (Selectman's assistant), and approximately 20 residents.

First Selectman Angus McDonald called the meeting to order at 7:32 PM. Jim Olson made a motion to appoint Duane Gates as moderator which was seconded by Tony Bolduc. The motion was approved unanimously. Gates appointed Amy Winchell to act as clerk of the meeting who then read the call. Jonathan Kastner made a motion to accept the call as read which was seconded by Sarah Field. The motion was approved unanimously. Upon further discussion it was noted that Carol Jones, newly elected First Selectman, could not be reappointed to CHC and that Mary Renee Lamark-Muir was currently serving a term ending 2024 on the Zoning Board of Appeals. A motion was made by Rick Daniels and seconded by Bruce Edgerton to remove those two names from these appointments. The motion was approved unanimously.

Motion to approve the first item was made by Daniels and seconded by Edgerton:

To approve actions of the Board of Selectmen at its regular meeting of October 24, 2023:

1. Appointment to the Planning and Zoning Commission:

Lisa Demaria (Regular)

Term to expire: 12/01/2025

There being no discussion, a voice vote was held. The motion was approved unanimously.

It was decided that each part of the second item would be moved and voted on separately. Motion to approve part 1 of the second item was made by Daniels and seconded by Edgerton:

To approve actions of the Board of Selectmen at its regular meeting of November 14, 2023:

1. Appointments to the Community Health Committee:

David L. Blifford (Regular) Term to expire: 12/01/2025

## Elizabeth L. Gregan (Regular)

There being no discussion, a voice vote was held. The motion was approved unanimously.

Motion to approve part 2 of the second item was made by Bolduc and seconded by Olson:

2. Appointments to the Planning and Zoning Commission:

Alan David Paradis (Regular)

Marian G. Staye (Regular)

Term to expire: 12/01/2026

Term to expire: 12/01/2026

Term to expire: 12/01/2026

Term to expire: 12/01/2026

Term to expire: 12/01/2025

There being no discussion, a voice vote was held. The motion was approved unanimously.

Motion to approve part 3 of the second item was made by Pat Maikowski and seconded by Renee Lamark:

3. Appointments to the Zoning Board of Appeals:

Jerome J. Ackerman (Regular) Term to expire: 12/01/2026 William E. Harris (Regular) Term to expire: 12/01/2026

There being no discussion, a voice vote was held. The motion was approved unanimously.

A motion to adjourn was made by Olson and seconded by Bolduc. The motion was approved and the meeting was adjourned at 7:39pm.

ATTEST: Amy M. Winchell, Town Clerk