

## Special Town Meeting

## August 8, 2023

A Special Town Meeting was held on Tuesday, August 8, 2023, in the Richard H. Smith Town Hall. The meeting was attended by the Board of Selectmen including First Selectman Angus McDonald, Selectmen Duane Gates and James Olson. Videographers Margo Elliott and John Greene recorded the meeting. Also in attendance were Joyce Berardis (Selectman's assistant), and residents Ryan Demik, Kathryn Russell, Jonathan Kastner, and Carol Jones.

First Selectman Angus McDonald called the meeting to order at 7:01 PM. Jim Olson made a motion to appoint Duane Gates as moderator which was seconded by Joyce Berardis. The motion was approved unanimously. Gates appointed Paula Weglarz to act as clerk of the meeting who then read the call. Olson made a motion to accept the call as read which was seconded by Jonathan Kastner. The motion was approved unanimously.

Motion to approve Item #1 was made by McDonald and seconded by Olson.

## 1. To approve actions of the Board of Selectmen's regular meeting of July 25, 2023:

Appointments to the Zoning Board of Appeals:

Mary Renee Lamark-Muir (Alternate)

Sybil R. Higgins (Alternate)

Term to expire: 12/01/2024

Term to expire: 12/01/2025

Discussion: McDonald voiced his appreciation to the 2 residents for volunteering to serve on the board.

There being no further discussion, a voice vote was held. **The motion was approved unanimously.** 

A motion to adjourn was made by Olson and seconded by Gates. The motion was approved and the meeting was adjourned at 7:03pm.

ATTEST: Paula Weglarz, Assistant Town Clerk